Marmen Quartet

© Marco Borggreve

Formed in 2013 at the Royal College of Music in London, the Marmen Quartet is fast building a reputation for the courage, vitality and vigor of its performances. 2019 marks a year of significant achievement for the Quartet, having won the Grand Prize at the Bordeaux International String Quartet Competition as well claiming First Prize at the Banff International String Quartet Competition, where they were also awarded the Haydn and Canadian Commission prizes in addition.

Other accolades include first prize at the Royal Overseas League Competition (2018) and awards at the International Joseph Joachim Chamber Music Competition.

The Marmen Quartet has performed at venues including Wigmore Hall, Milton Court (Barbican), Palladium Malmö and Muziekgebouw Eindhoven. Other recent highlights have included performances across the UK as part of Music in the Round’s ‘Bridge Scheme’ (2015-17), as well as regular appearances at the Wiltshire Music Centre where they are Young Quartet in Association and throughout Sweden. Festival engagements have taken the Quartet to the Hitzacker, Lockenhaus, Edinburgh Fringe, North Norfolk and Lake District Summer Music Festivals.

The 2019/20 season sees debuts at the Berlin Philharmonie, Amsterdam String Quartet Biennale and the Graffenegg Festival as well as extensive European tours including performances in Zurich, Paris, Würzburg and Nuremberg. The Quartet performs regularly across Sweden and 19/20 brings their first Beethoven String Quartet cycle with Musik I Syd. Another season highlight sees them perform Martinů’s Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra with the Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra. Further afield, the Quartet makes its Japanese debut in a tour including performances in Osaka, Nagoya and Tokyo.

The Marmen Quartet currently holds the Guildhall School of Music String Quartet Fellowship and studies in London with Simon Rowland-Jones and John Myerscough (Doric Quartet). The Quartet is also completing a Master of Chamber Music with Oliver Wille at the Hochschule für Musik in Hannover. They were mentored by the late Peter Cropper and have received support from the Musicians Company/Concordia Foundation, the Hattori Foundation, Help Musicians and the Royal Philharmonic Society (Albert and Eugenie Frost Prize).

Veranstaltungen mit den Künstlern
Website der Künstler

Marmen Quartet

© Marco Borggreve


Das Marmen Quartet, das 2013 am Royal College of Music in London gegründet wurde, hat sich schnell einen Ruf für den Mut, die Vitalität und den Elan seiner Auftritte erworben. 2019 markiert ein Jahr bedeutender Leistungen für das Quartett: Es gewann den Großen Preis beim Internationalen Streichquartett-Wettbewerb in Bordeaux und beanspruchte den Ersten Preis beim Internationalen Streichquartett-Wettbewerb in Banff, wo es zusätzlich mit dem Haydn-Preis und dem Preis der Kanadischen Kommission ausgezeichnet wurde. Zu den weiteren Auszeichnungen zählen der erste Preis beim Royal Overseas League Wettbewerb (2018) und Auszeichnungen beim Internationalen Joseph Joachim Kammermusikwettbewerb.

Das Marmen Quartet ist u.a. in der Wigmore Hall, in Milton Court (Barbican), im Palladium Malmö und im Muziekgebouw Eindhoven aufgetreten. Weitere Höhepunkte der letzten Zeit waren Auftritte in ganz Großbritannien im Rahmen von Music in the Round's 'Bridge Scheme' (2015-17) sowie regelmäßige Auftritte im Wiltshire Music Centre, wo das Marmen Quartett als Young Quartet in Association auftritt, und in ganz Schweden. Festivalengagements führten das Quartett zu den Sommer-Musikfestivals in Hitzacker, Lockenhaus, Edinburgh Fringe, North Norfolk und Lake District.

In der Saison 2019/20 stehen Debüts in der Berliner Philharmonie, der Amsterdam String Quartet Biennale und beim Graffenegg Festival sowie ausgedehnte Europatourneen mit Auftritten in Zürich, Paris, Würzburg und Nürnberg auf dem Programm. Das Quartett tritt regelmäßig in ganz Schweden auf, und 19/20 bringt seinen ersten Beethoven-Streichquartett-Zyklus mit Musik I Syd. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt der Saison ist die Aufführung des Konzerts für Streichquartett und Orchester von Martinů mit dem Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra. Darüber hinaus gibt das Quartett sein Japan-Debüt im Rahmen einer Tournee mit Auftritten in Osaka, Nagoya und Tokio.

Das Marmen Quartet ist derzeit Stipendiat des Streichquartetts der Guildhall School of Music und studiert in London bei Simon Rowland-Jones und John Myerscough (Doric Quartet). Das Quartett absolviert außerdem einen Master of Chamber Music bei Oliver Wille an der Hochschule für Musik in Hannover. Sie wurden von dem verstorbenen Peter Cropper als Mentor betreut und erhielten Unterstützung von der Musicians Company/Concordia Foundation, der Hattori Foundation, Help Musicians und der Royal Philharmonic Society (Albert-und-Eugenie-Frost-Preis).

Veranstaltungen mit den Künstlern
Website der Künstler