Valery Afanassiev – Klavier

© ohne Angabe
Valery Afanassiev was born in Moscow in 1947 and studied at the Moscow Conservatoire under Jacob Zak and subsequently Emil Gilels. He has won two major international competitions: the Bach Competition in Leipzig (1968) and the Queen Elisabeth Competition in Brussels (1972).

In 1974 he requested political asylum in Belgium where he currently lives. Since his defection to the West, he has given concerts throughout Europe, Japan, China, Australia and the United States.

Valery Afanassiev has recorded around 70 CDs, the booklets for which he writes himself. The aim is to give the listener a total picture of his insight into the composer's mind—a guided tour through his alchemical laboratory in which poetry, philosophy, painting, the Kabbalath and even wine, as much as musical notation, may be taken as points of reference. Today, he is under contract to Sony Classical. His recent box entitled Testament, which gathers six Cds of unpublished performances, received in Japan the prestigious Geijutsu Record Academy Award 2019

He has also devoted himself to chamber music and has recorded several Cds with famous musicians, including Gidon Kremer (violin and piano sonatas by Brahms and Schubert), or José Van Dam (Schubert’s Swan Song). For several years, Valery Afanassiev has also conducted a variety of international orchestras. He endeavours to approach something of the sound quality and polyphony of his favourite conductors: Furtwängler, Toscanini, Mengelberg, Knappertsbusch, Bruno Walter and Klemperer.

Valery Afanassiev is also a writer. He has written 37 novels: 23 in English and 14 in French. He has also written sixteen books of poetry in English and nine in Russian, a book of long stories, a book of short stories, a huge commentary on Dante’s Commedia, three books of essays and two theatrical pieces inspired by The Pictures at an Exhibition and Kreisleriana, in both of which he performs as pianist and actor (in four languages). Recently he completed a play based on Kafka’s In the Penal Colony during which he performs Morton Feldman’s Palais de Mari.

Veranstaltung mit dem Künstler

Valery Afanassiev – Klavier

© ohne Angabe


Valery Afanassiev wurde 1947 in Moskau geboren und studierte am Moskauer Konservatorium bei Jacob Zak und später bei Emil Gilels. Er hat zwei bedeutende internationale Wettbewerbe gewonnen: den Bach-Wettbewerb in Leipzig (1968) und den Königin-Elisabeth-Wettbewerb in Brüssel (1972).

Im Jahr 1974 beantragte er politisches Asyl in Belgien, wo er heute lebt. Seit seiner Flucht in den Westen hat er Konzerte in ganz Europa, Japan, China, Australien und den Vereinigten Staaten gegeben.

Valery Afanassiev hat etwa 70 CDs aufgenommen, die Booklets, für die er selbst schreibt. Ziel ist es, dem Zuhörer ein Gesamtbild seines Einblicks in die Gedankenwelt des Komponisten zu vermitteln - eine Führung durch sein alchemistisches Laboratorium, in dem Poesie, Philosophie, Malerei, Kabbalath und sogar Wein ebenso wie Musiknotation als Bezugspunkte dienen können. Heute steht er bei Sony Classical unter Vertrag. Seine jüngste Box mit dem Titel Testament, die sechs CDs mit unveröffentlichten Aufführungen enthält, erhielt in Japan den prestigeträchtigen Geijutsu Record Academy Award 2019

Er hat sich auch der Kammermusik gewidmet und mehrere CDs mit berühmten Musikern aufgenommen, darunter Gidon Kremer (Violin- und Klaviersonaten von Brahms und Schubert) oder José Van Dam (Schuberts Schwanengesang). Seit einigen Jahren dirigiert Valery Afanassiev auch eine Vielzahl internationaler Orchester. Er bemüht sich, etwas von der Klangqualität und Polyphonie seiner Lieblingsdirigenten anzunähern: Furtwängler, Toscanini, Mengelberg, Knappertsbusch, Bruno Walter und Klemperer.

Valery Afanassiev ist auch Schriftsteller. Er hat 37 Romane geschrieben: 23 auf Englisch und 14 auf Französisch. Darüber hinaus hat er sechzehn Gedichtbände auf Englisch und neun auf Russisch geschrieben, ein Buch mit langen Geschichten, ein Buch mit Kurzgeschichten, einen umfangreichen Kommentar zu Dantes Commedia, drei Essaybücher und zwei Theaterstücke, die von Die Bilder einer Ausstellung und Kreisleriana inspiriert sind, in denen er als Pianist und Schauspieler auftritt (in vier Sprachen). Kürzlich vollendete er ein Stück nach Kafkas In der Strafkolonie, in dem er Morton Feldmans Palais de Mari aufführt.

Veranstaltung mit dem Künstler